Queen Mother Champion Chase History

Queen Mother Chase HistoryThe Queen Mother Champion Chase was first run at the Cheltenham Festival in 1959 and was then known as the National Hunt Two Mile Chase, but then in 1980, the name changed to include the name of the late Queen Mother in honour of her support to racing and on her 80th birthday.

The race is regarded by many as the most important race of its type in the country, it has a proud list of past winners, most of them top class and very quick steeplechasers.

The legendary, Pat Taafe, former jockey of the great Arkle, is the most successful jockey in the race, having won it five times. These days it is the likes of Ruby Walsh that is threatening that feat. Ruby won last year on Master Minded and is favourite in the Queen Mother Champion Chase Odds to do so again this year.

The most successful horse is Badsworth Boy with three wins, but there are a number of with two, see Queen Mother Champion Chase Legends to see the full list. Irish Trainer, Tom Dreaper, holds six wins in the race, a record that current trainer, Paul Nicholls, is challenging; he already has four! One of them is the races youngest ever winner, Master Minded, who won in 2008 and 2009. The oldest winning horse was Skymas, aged 12, who won in 1977.